My my My my

The Hobey Baker Award: “An Award of Excellence”

The legend of Hobey Baker:

Hobey was the ultimate athlete of his day.  Entering Princeton in 1910, he captained both the hockey and football teams.  His legend lives on having been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame and both the Canadian and American Hockey Halls of Fame.

When WWI broke out, he enlisted as a fighter pilot, battling in the sky as he did on the ice, earning medals for exceptional valor under fire. But, just as he was returning to a hero’s welcome in America, he died in France, testing a repaired aircraft.

Throughout his hockey career, Hobey Baker was penalized only twice. After every game, he would visit the opposing team’s locker room to shake the hand of every single opponent.

Hobey Baker was the embodiment of all that was good in the game of hockey.

Hobey Baker is the symbol of why we love this game. A symbol of the perfect hero.

In 1981, the Hobey Baker Award was established and awarded to the top NCAA Division 1 Men’s Ice Hockey Player.

In 2003, the Hobey Baker High School Character Award was established.  The award was established to recognize,, develop and reward exemplary character and sportsmanship in high school hockey players.  The Mass State Hockey Coaches Association partnered with the Hobey Baker Foundation in the 2005-06 season to award  deserving student athletes in Massachusetts High School Hockey.  The high school level award is a natural extension of the prestigious Hobey Baker Memorial Award.


2019-2020 Griffin Mudge
2018-2019 Kevin Buckley
2017-2018 Nevan Costello
2013-2014 Pat Shea
2012-2013 Mike Carbone
2011-2012 Brennan Quackenbush
2010-2011 Ty Martina
2009-2010 Pat Lema
2008-2009 Bryan Hernon
2007-2008 Jake Lafauce
2006-2007 Craig Nichols
2005-2006 Ryan Warsofsky